BeReal offers users the ability to be truly authentic. Unlike Instagram, Facebook, and TikTok, where most people share the curated highlights of their life, this unfiltered photo-sharing app asks users to share real-life moments while they’re happening. The idea is to reveal a more genuine side of your life on social media to friends. It’s simple, one photo of what you’re looking at and one photo of your face makes one BeReal post. Although BeReal became available for download in late 2019, it’s just beginning to gain traction now, in 2022.
How do you use BeReal? Once a day BeReal will send a notification at a random time to everyone in your timezone letting you know it's time to “BeReal”. You then have a two-minute time frame to post a picture (with an optional caption) taken with your back and front cameras simultaneously. The purpose of this is to capture your unfiltered life, and ‘be real’ with your friends and followers. No filters, no planned curated shots, just real-life moments shared. You only get to post once a day, and if you don’t post, your friend's posts will be hidden from you until you share. If you don’t post within your two-minute window, you can still post and it will be marked as ‘x-hr late’. Then you’ll be able to view your friends’ BeReal posts from that day.
After the initial setup, and you’ve added friends from your contacts, you’ll be asked to share today’s BeReal. You’ll get two minutes to post, and you’ll be able to have as many attempts as you like. If you have more than ten friends, in true BeReal social media fashion, your friends will know how many times the photo was retaken. Friends can react to your BeReal post with "RealMoji"'s, where a live photo is taken to accompany one of the selected emojis. Friends can also comment on your BeReal posts encouraging community engagement. In addition to connecting with your existing contact list to see which of your friends has BeReal, you will be able to search for user names. In-app suggestions are also available to show more people with who you have "mutual friends".
There are two tabs on BeReal when you're on the main screen: "My Friends" and "Discovery". In the Discovery tab, you can view strangers’ BeReals and share your post with the public. In order to make your post public and land on the discovery section, when you take your photo for the day select “Discovery” before pressing “send”.
Unlike other social media, BeReal isn’t a place to amass followers, views, or likes. You are not able to see how many followers other people have. In this way, the app tries to promote a more healthy relationship with being on social media. Another unique element of the app is that you can only post once a day. This limits users' interaction with the app and promotes a healthier relationship with your screen time. Ideally, you are out living your life and not scrolling on BeReal. Lastly, unlike the vortex that is TikTok, Instagram, and literally every other social media, there isn’t the black hole of mindlessly scrolling through friends' past posts. All posts and comments reset when the next BeReal notification goes out. Even though your BeReal disappears once you post your new one, if you tap on your profile picture, it'll bring you to a page that has "Your Memories" and you can see all your past BeReals. These are only visible to you.
Although you won’t see Ads on BeReal, brands are already utilizing the app to connect with audiences and engage with followers in a genuine way. Because the app is ‘unfiltered’, it’s a great way for brands to share authentic ‘day in the life’ or behind-the-scenes content, and to engage users on a more personal level. BeReal allows brands to foster a sincere connection with their audience through sharing unique content that wouldn’t typically be shared on any other social platform.
Yes, BeReal will notify your friends when you take a screenshot of their posts. This includes posts from the Discovery section. In order to see who has taken a screenshot of your BeReal, you have to share your BeReal with someone via another social network (Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter, email, etc.)
There is no set time when the app will request you to share a post. It changes every day and is completely random, but everyone gets the BeReal notification at the same time (depending on your time zone).
The BeReal app is as safe as any social media. Users should keep in mind that they are sharing images and information that others will see. As a default, the location feature is turned on. If sharing your location details is a concern when posting online, you’ll have to turn off that feature before posting.
Learn why Dash Hudson is the preferred solution for marketing and social media teams.