Meet Haley Barcus

In September we spoke with Haley Barcus, Senior Social Media Manager for the fashion brand, GUESS. Read on to learn how she started their career in social, how she stays on top of social trends and so much more.

Tell us a little about yourself:

En tant que directrice principale des médias sociaux, je dirige la stratégie mondiale des médias sociaux chez GUESS, Inc. avec une audience de près de 20M followers à travers toutes les marques GUESS-owned . Depuis plus de 7 ans, j'ai participé au lancement de plus de 150 campagnes publicitaires mondiales mettant en scène des talents tels que Hailey Beiber, Jennifer Lopez et J Balvin.

Qu'aimez-vous dans le fait de travailler dans le domaine social ?

Aucun jour ne se ressemble dans le monde des médias sociaux. Chaque nouvelle tendance des médias sociaux est un défi à notre créativité.

Comment rester à la pointe de l'actualité sociale trends?

Mon équipe et moi-même sommes en contact deux fois par semaine et commençons toujours par ce qui est tendance sur les médias sociaux. Rien n'est interdit, car je pense que tout peut être source d'inspiration. J'ai la chance de diriger une équipe de créatifs dynamiques aux perspectives différentes.

"No day is the same in the world of social media. Every new social media trend is a challenge to our creativity."

Haley Barcus

Senior Social Media Manager at GUESS

Quelle est la campagne sociale dont vous êtes le plus fier depuis votre passage chez GUESS ?

Il est difficile d'en choisir un, mais le premier projet qui me vient à l'esprit est d'avoir participé à la création de #DestinationGUESS, notre série d'événements mondiaux pour les influenceurs. Mon patron de l'époque croyait vraiment en nous et nous a laissé tout diriger, de la production de l'événement à la création de contenu. Au cours de la première année, nous avons fait passer le nombre de followers de @guess de 2,7 millions à 5 millions (le compte est maintenant à plus de 8 millions followers), attribuant la majeure partie de la croissance aux cinq voyages #DestinationGUESS que nous avons organisés. C'était agréable de voir notre travail récompensé, et nous avons pu nous amuser un peu tout en le faisant - ce qui est toujours un avantage.

Comment devenir un gestionnaire de médias sociaux performant ?

Choisissez une équipe travailleuse et diversifiée. Un autre conseil pour la constitution de votre équipe est de travailler avec des personnes sur lesquelles vous pouvez compter et qui apportent des compétences différentes à l'équipe. Il est également important d'établir une communication solide entre tous les services internes afin de s'assurer que tous les efforts de marketing sont harmonisés.

En ce qui concerne les réseaux sociaux, l'intention du canal est importante - N'ayez pas peur de tester de nouveaux sites trends sur les plateformes où cela a le plus de sens.

Quelle est la tendance ou la caractéristique sociale future qui vous enthousiasme le plus ?

Les progrès de la narration vidéo m'enthousiasment. Je vois déjà comment les marques et les créateurs améliorent la qualité de leur contenu. J'adore voir l'évolution des images éditées vers un contenu vidéo de qualité supérieure qui semble presque cinématographique. En tant que passionné de narration, cela stimule ma créativité.

Quelle est votre fonction préférée sur Dash Hudson ?

J'adore la facilité avec laquelle il est possible d'extraire les données des médias sociaux Analytics et d'en faire un rapport. Il est essentiel de pouvoir accéder facilement à ces données, car toutes les équipes ne disposent pas d'un analyste de données. Je demande à chaque membre de l'équipe de produire des rapports pour leurs marques owned , ce qui leur permet d'apprendre beaucoup de choses au cours du processus. J'aime aussi la façon dont Dash Hudson est à l'écoute des besoins de ses clients et trouve rapidement des solutions.

A Newsletter You'll Actually Want to Open

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive exclusive social media resources, trends and expert tips sent to your inbox every single week.

Explore Previous Spotlights

Dive into our past social media manager spotlights and discover their secrets to success.

L'outil de gestion de réseaux sociaux essentiel pour propulser votre réussite et votre croissance en marketing

Meet Haley Barcus

In September we spoke with Haley Barcus, Senior Social Media Manager for the fashion brand, GUESS. Read on to learn how she started their career in social, how she stays on top of social trends and so much more.

Tell us a little about yourself:

As the Senior Manager of Social Media, I lead the global social media strategy at GUESS?, Inc., with an audience of nearly 20M followers across all GUESS-owned brands. Through my 7+ years at the global brand, I have helped launch over 150 Global Advertising Campaigns featuring talent like Hailey Beiber, Jennifer Lopez and J Balvin.

What do you love about working in social?

No day is the same in the world of social media. Every new social media trend is a challenge to our creativity.

How do you stay on top of social trends?

My team and I touch base twice weekly and always start with what’s trending on social media. Nothing is off-limits because I believe you can find inspiration from anything. I’m lucky to lead a team of dynamic creatives with different perspectives.

"No day is the same in the world of social media. Every new social media trend is a challenge to our creativity."

Haley Barcus

Senior Social Media Manager at GUESS

What social campaign are you most proud of from your time with GUESS?

It’s hard to choose one, but the first project that comes to mind is being a part of creating #DestinationGUESS, our series of global influencer events. My boss at the time really believed in us and let us lead everything from event production to content creation. During the first year, we increased the @guess following from 2.7M to 5M (the account is now at over 8M followers), attributing most growth to the five #DestinationGUESS trips we hosted. It felt good seeing our hard work pay off, plus we got to have a little fun while doing it — always a bonus.

Top tips on how to be a successful social media manager?

Choose a hard-working, diverse team. Another tip for creating your team is working with people you can rely on who bring different skills to the team. It’s also important to have solid communication across all internal departments to ensure all marketing efforts are aligned.

Regarding social, channel intention matters — Don’t be afraid to test new trends on the platforms where it makes the most sense.

What future social trend or feature excites you most?

The advancement of video storytelling excites me. I can already see how brands and creators are increasing the quality of their content. I love seeing the evolution of edited pictures to elevated video content that feels almost cinematic. As someone whose passion is storytelling, this ignites my creativity.

What is your favorite Dash Hudson feature?

I love how easy it is to pull Social Media Analytics and make a report. It’s vital to have easy accessibility to this because not all teams have a Data Analyst. I have each team member pull reports for their owned brands, allowing them to learn a lot in the process. I also love how Dash Hudson listens to their customers' needs and finds solutions quickly.

A Newsletter You'll Actually Want to Open

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive exclusive social media resources, trends and expert tips sent to your inbox every single week.

Explore Previous Spotlights

Dive into our past social media manager spotlights and discover their secrets to success.

The Only Social Platform Marketers Need To Succeed and Scale